About Us

Distance and Online Learning staff work with faculty and staff to test and evaluate technologies that enhance the online and remote teaching and learning environment. We monitor and diagnose technical issues with the learning management system and function as a liaison with ITS, SUNY Online and Blackboard.

Our instructional designers work with faculty to build courses meeting OSCQR, C-RAC and NYSED standards for online learning, and instructional content developers support the creation of robust course content and multimedia with a list of faculty focused services. We provide support to online and remote students and faculty through our Help Desk, managed by the senior online learning support specialist.

Staff

Linda K. Ryder
Interim Director of Distance Learning
(518) 629-8198
l.ryder@hvcc.edu

Diane C. Auerbach-Lerner
Instructional Designer
(518) 629-7391
d.auerbachlerner@hvcc.edu

Elissa M. Baker
Senior Instructional Designer
(518) 629-8196
e.baker@hvcc.edu

Abigail R. Johnson
Instructional Designer
(518) 629-8197
a.johnson1@hvcc.edu

Mark R. Petersen
Instructional Designer
(518) 629-8128
m.petersen@hvcc.edu

Denise Russo
Instructional Content Developer
d.russo@hvcc.edu

Van L. White
Senior Online Support Specialist
v.white@hvcc.edu

Mission and Goals

The mission for Distance and Online Learning is to maintain and enhance academic excellence by providing a creative environment for the development and implementation of distance learning opportunities for both faculty and students that represent educational technologies common to higher education and the global workplace. 

Get in Touch

Center for Distance and Online Learning

Bulmer Telecommunications Center, Room 1042

Regular Hours: Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Summer Hours: Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Get Help